Book Review: Some Small Magic

All Abel wants is a little bit of magic in his life. Enough money so his mom doesn’t cry at night. Healing for his broken body.

Some small magic.jpg

When Abel discovers letters written by a father he believed dead, he decides to run away to discover the truth.

All this sounds like a book I would love. I’d tried reading Billy Coffey’s Paper Angels a couple of years ago, but just couldn’t get into it. I wouldn’t have requested a review copy of this book if I’d realized it was the same author. As soon as I started reading Some Small Magic, I recognized the author’s style.  I admit to liking this book better, but still had trouble with the “magic” and the personification of death.

I should have written a review immediately after reading this book, but it took me a few days to process it, which means it is probably a better book than I am giving it credit for. Just not my typical read, and not a genre that appeals to me.

To learn more about the author, click HERE.

Leave a Reply

