Book Review: Finding God’s Blessings in Brokenness

“Nothing feels blessed about being broken. In fact, certain circumstances in life hurt so intensely that we think we will never heal. But blessing can come in the wake of our being broken.
And this blessing is richest when we not only let ourselves fully experience the brokenness but also wrestle with God over why he allowed us to be broken. When we cooperate with God as he does his refining and transformational work in us, his blessing will follow our brokenness.” -Charles F. Stanley, in “Finding God’s Blessings in Brokenness”

finding gods blessings

These words hit me hard, because of the powerful truth in them. In fact, I read them a second time, out loud, before I started crying. You see, as awful as it sounds and as terrible a truth it is, in the five years since my husband died, I have become a different person. I’ve developed a personal relationship with Jesus. I’m more empathetic and caring. My formerly reticent self now seeks out human connections. God has worked in me. I was truly refined through the fire of loss; losing mother, husband, and grandson in the space of three years. God works in our pain.
I’m not sure I would have appreciated this book during the early dark days of grief, but I certainly appreciated the message now. This lovely gift book is an easy read. I read it in less than an hour. The pictures that illustrate the pages are beautiful; nature at it’s finest.

Leave a Reply

