It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas…

I’ve kind of lost track of the details of my daily deeds, though I know I’ve already sent out several of the lovely cards I found at HalfPrice books, along with three more verse cards. I forgot to write down two of the verses before I sent them off, but Saturday’s verse made me think about a friend whose husband died a year ago in November, so a card went out to her that morning, along with the verse card that said this; “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

“Why are you sending the verses? You won’t be able to use them next year,” my daughter Elizabeth pointed out when I told her where Saturday’s card was going.

“I don’t think I’ll need them next year. I need something to get through this first holiday season.”

One reason I haven’t shared all the verses and my subsequent actions is that several have been quite personal. I look at the cards every morning and then spend some quiet time praying, and each time I have felt led to reach out to a particular person, sometimes for reasons unknown, and other times, for obvious reasons. I’ve also been very busy with Christmas preparations and finishing up a manuscript.

It is interesting to note that for all I had dreaded the holidays, our house is looking quite festive.  Our tree arrived and is now beautifully decorated.

christmas tree 003

Emily, inspired perhaps by my verse a day ritual, designed Abby’s usual red and green Christmas chain with a little twist for the first time.

christmas chain 001

On each chain, she added something for Abby to do on that day; something nice. One day it was “Don’t annoy Mom today.” Another one said, “Wave to a stranger.” Yesterday’s was “Do five nice things for others today,” and Abby and I both had fun counting out her five nice things that eventually became eight nice things.

christmas chain 002

Rachel added to our new rituals by spending time with the girls, designing a gingerbread house. In 33 years of Christmas traditions, I’d never made a gingerbread house!

gingerbread house 009There it is, on top of my bookshelf.

Here is a close-up of the creation:

gingerbread house 002Besides the Christmas preparations, I am busy finishing up a manuscript that is due to the publisher by the end of the month. I hope to finish it by the end of the week, instead. I think I might just make it, too, if the last two days are any indication.

Speaking of Christmas, if you are on my Christmas card mailing list, you should have gotten my card by now. When I had to choose a photo that embodied the year, this was it. There wasn’t any other photo that would do it.

christmas card

Beneath the dove and the holiday greetings, I added this sentiment;

Live like you are dying!                                                                                                                   Love with all your heart~                                                                                                  And laugh, because this is the only card you’ll ever get with a tombstone on it.

 

One thought on “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas…

  1. Cathy McCollom says:

    Thank you Mary. I enjoy reading your messages. Yes, they make me miss my husband, but mine just ran away to follow a dream. I am glad that you are making new traditions and the gingerbread house looks great. That is a perfect place for it. I pray that you will enjoy the holidays with the kids and make new traditions that will last a lifetime. The scripture card a day and sending them to people you feel compelled by God to send them to is a beautiful tradition to start. You get the benefit of the card when you read and pray and another will also get the benefit of the verse just when they need it. May you all pray together, love together and get through the holidays with smiles on your faces knowing that David is with his heavenly Father. Love to all. Cathy

Leave a Reply

