For the Birds…

The card I picked up today had this verse; “If you give even a cup of cold water to one of the least of my followers, you will surely be rewarded.” Matthew 10:42

As soon as I read it, I walked to the kitchen window and looked out to the yard where the bird feeders were.  A year ago, the area would have been teeming with birds. Today there was one single bird, a beautiful blue one who looked up at me reproachfully. Seriously. That bird had an attitude. It cocked its head to the side as one beady eye looked right at me, as if to say “What’s the matter with you? Where’s our food?”

A single cup of water. Those poor birds hadn’t had a single cup of water in our bird bath for months now, except for that sent down by God himself in the form of raindrops.

I took Abby with me to Farm Fleet, where David used to take her when he bought birdseed. Which was often. She knew right where to look, and which seed he bought. We looked for a shepherd’s hook to put in the ground at his gravestone, but it was too late in the season for that. Instead, we purchased a small bird feeder to put on the gravestone until next spring. Let me tell you, there isn’t anything much sadder than watching a little girl set down a filled bird feeder at her daddy’s grave. We left the Bible verse card there on the stone.

When we got home, Abby had fun filling both the bird feeders and the bird bath. Throughout the afternoon she’d peek out the kitchen window, hoping to spy some birds but all she saw was one big squirrel with his body halfway in one of the feeders.

“Oh well,” she sighed, “Daddy liked squirrels too.”

One thought on “For the Birds…

  1. Joan says:

    I remember how much our mother, too, liked to watch the birds outside her window. Whenever I fill our feeders, or give the birds fresh water, I think of our mother. She didn’t let the bad weather stop her either. She had a special pole she used to help get through the deep snow so she could keep the feeders full during the winter. What a determined woman! So I carry on the tradition in her memory. Just like you are doing in memory of your dear husband, David. I can’t help but believe, Mary, that God’s gentler creatures are a reminder of all that is good in life.

Leave a Reply

