I See You Mary

“I see you, Mary,” the booming voice of this morning’s devotional speaker startled me out of my reviere. “Take courage. Be filled with courage.”

The speaker had most likely chosen Mary as a common name to illustrate his point, but he may as well have been speaking only to me.

I see you, Mary.

“Every follower of Jesus Christ can survive their deep water and dark night experiences because we have the knot of reassurance that even when we can’t see Jesus, Jesus sees us.”

 I see you Mary.

“When we can’t get to Jesus, he comes to us. When we can’t speak to Jesus, he speaks to us.”

“I am here. I am there for you, he says. Don’t be afraid to take the next step. Don’t be afraid,” Pastor Marvin Williams (http://www.marvinlwilliams.org/) said as tears flowed freely down my cheeks.

It took courage to get on an airplane for the first time in my life; courage to face a conference where I would know no one. Courage to go on without my husband. It will take courage to raise my last three children on my own. Courage to continue writing despite recent setbacks.

“Don’t be afraid to take the next step. Don’t be afraid.”

I won’t.

As soon as I know what that is.

3 thoughts on “I See You Mary

  1. Judith Robl says:

    My grandmother used to say “when you don’t know what to do, just do the next thing.” I take that to mean the job that is currently at hand. When that one is finished, there will be another, and another one after that, and on down the line. If you have laid your life in God’s hands, he will orchestrate those jobs near at hand to get you where he wants you to go. Keep going, precious daughter of God.

  2. Joan Kramer says:

    Take courage Mary, as your new life journey has already begun. The first step is always the hardest, isn’t it? You are now well on the way, and there is no going back. I have seen you grow so much as a person; it’s almost like watching a rose bud unfold and open. It doesn’t look like much at first, but oh how glorious it will be when it is finished blooming. You are like that rose, and you are glorious too. I am so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

