Posted in Uncategorized

Surrounded by Words

It occurred to me tonight as I hung this picture on my kitchen wall, that in more ways than one, I am surrounded by words.

I was attracted to the simplicity of the painting, the country scenery, and the cute little sheep on the hillside, but it was the words around the print that sealed the purchase;

“I have always been delighted at the prospect of a new day, a fresh try, one more start, with perhaps a bit of magic waiting somewhere behind the morning.”  J.B. Priestly, 1894-1984

I suppose it is only natural that a writer, a word craftsman, would be inclined to purchase wall hangings and pictures that include some form of words as decoration, whether it be famous quotes or sayings that have some meaning to the buyer. My entryway practically screams “Bartlett’s Quotations.”

As you enter the house, on the wall to the right is this:

Happy Moments, Praise God

Difficult Moments, Seek God

Quiet Moments, Worship God

Painful Moments, Trust God

Every Moment, Thank God.

Amen to that.

And of course there are my lovely LIVE

and DREAM signs

And a wall where I hung a picture my sister Denise gave me, in between two bird pictures.

The top bird picture has this saying on it; The grand essentials of happiness; something to do, someone to love, something to hope for.- Alexander Chalmers

The lower bird picture has this saying; What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.”- Ralph Waldo Emerson

And the meaningful saying from Denise?

I miss you now more than ever before, but I trust that God will open a door

And show me how to go on without you, to give me some hope and comfort too.

For you were my life and I loved you so dear, and it breaks my heart to not have you near

But life goes on, and I will too. I just wish it wouldn’t go on without you.

All My Love-       Barbara Lloyd, 2006

Every time I walk past that wall, I think of Denise giving me that picture, with the knowledge that she cares about me.

In the hallway hangs the wooden board my mother carved the words from one of Neil Diamond’s songs into, about the old man who’d died and left a wooden table he’d hand carved, and his children didn’t care; “they simply looked away.” Sad song, but beautiful wall decoration my mother created from an actual table leaf!

And then, of course, there is the word taped to my desk; a small piece of paper I pulled from a poster at the library that said “Take what you need.”

What about you? Are there things on your walls that bring you pleasure every time you see them? Are you, too, surrounded by words?

Author:

Author, public speaker, and workshop presenter for community colleges, libraries, women's groups and for grief support groups, Hospice and retreats. Certified grief counselor and Senior Service librarian for the James Kennedy Public library. Popular public speaker and workshop presenter on the topics of writing, couponing, utilizing your creativity in everyday life, and finding hope in grief. "Coupon Crazy: The Science, the Savings, and the Stories Behind America's Extreme Obsession" was published by Familius Publishing in 2014. "Chemo-Therapist: How Cancer Cured a Marriage" and "Refined By Fire: A Journey of Grief and Grace" were released by Familius in 2014. "Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink," co-written with Mary Jedlicka Humston of Iowa City, was published in September 2015. Grief journal to be released in 2018.

One thought on “Surrounded by Words

  1. As a fellow writer, of course I do, Miss Mary. In the living room, I have multiple plaques including “A home becomes a caste when the king and queen are in love”, “Family. . . all because two people fell in love” and “I’m not moody, disorganized, or self-absorbed. I’m artistic.” Heehee.

Leave a Reply

