Posted in Uncategorized

A Good Day

It works something like this:

I wait until I am so tired I am about ready to pass out, and then I fall asleep.

I wake up sometime in the early morning hours.  If the clock displays a time past 6:00, I tell  myself that is a reasonable hour to wake up and I get up.

And then I get through the day.

And do it all over again.

I wonder if my sisters actually have a “Mary chart” that they use to stagger their visits so that it is never more than 24 hours between visits, never more than 12 between phone calls.  I imagine Denise looking at her watch in the middle of the afternoon, calling out to her husband Mark in the other room, “It’s my turn, I have to go see Mary,” and I can almost hear his loud answering sigh. I picture Angela coming home from work, changing her clothes, and starting supper before she glances at the clock, gasping out loud. “I didn’t call Mary today. She’ll think I don’t care!” Jane calls regularly, Pat stops after work. Joan comes to visit. I smile when I think of these strong, loving women; my sisters~my friends.

This morning I was surprised to learn that the morning quiet is still a balm to my soul, despite the gaping hole in my heart.  I make my pot of coffee, turn on the radio to the religious station we’d begun listening to a couple of months ago (http://www.life1019.com/), and for a short while, I just listen, finding solace in the inspirational music. I cry a little, but not the desperate, racking sobs of two nights ago.

And then I pick up my pen.

Last night I’d begun the mindless task of writing thank-you notes using the nice sticky labels provided on the memorial envelopes from the wake. Those were easy notes to write; most of the people I don’t even know.  Today I began the thank-you notes that were more meaningful; the ones to those who have been most helpful to me. I decided to use some of my vintage scented stationery for the notes. For an hour, I wrote. Not an essay, not an article, but just the act of writing comforted me. I remember what I told my husband “Writing. It’s what I do.” Tiny nuggets for future reference are jotted down in between notes. I could someday write or speak about being a widow, I write in my journal, even as I wince with the sharp pain that knowledge brings.

In the thank-you notes I wrote of my undying gratitude. I wrote about David. In one letter, I mentioned how God had been preparing the way for me to make some money for our family, and as I wrote those words, I knew I would be doing the “Celebrate You” presentations on April 14th. If God had opened the doors for me, how could I turn away? I’d wanted someone to tell me exactly what to do, as if there exists a manual somewhere that informs us when we can begin doing certain activities.  When do widows go back to work? How long before I can talk about losing my husband without having my eyes fill with tears? Where is the rule book for grieving?

I asked my doctor; can I do a speech on couponing on the 14th? I’d hoped he would either tell me to cancel it, or assure me I would be fine. Instead, he’d responded with a truthful “I don’t know.” Today, while writing a letter, I knew I would not be canceling.

The letters I began this morning would be mailed using my personalized stamps, but I needed to add a one-cent stamp. I would have to go to the post office. At the counter, the postmaster asked me what kind of stamps I had and I turned over the envelope on the counter, revealing the photo of David and me in the corner. His eyes welled with tears and he took the envelope from me, gently saying, “I was sorry to hear about your husband. These are beautiful stamps.”

At the grocery store, I wandered the aisles, not sure what to buy. I threw in a couple of cans of nuts (David liked these, I thought), some macaroni and cheese the kids could prepare themselves, milk for tea and coffee, chicken strips. It was no use; I wasn’t hungry for anything and I couldn’t concentrate.  I avoided Dianne’s eyes as she bagged my groceries. I didn’t think I could bear it if she said anything about David. Then she leaned over, put her hand on my arm and looked right into my eyes. “I was so sorry to hear about your husband,” she said, and my chest tightened. I just nodded my head.  I’d survived my first trip to the grocery store. I could do it again.

As I brought the groceries to the porch, my sister Joan backed up into our driveway and got out of her bright red Jeep. My heart leaped in my chest. I realized at that precise moment that my sisters had brought me more than food, love, and comfort in the past few days. They had brought me joy amidst the pain. I smiled, knowing I could still feel joy.

“I functioned, Joan,” I announced as I pointed to the grocery bags at my feet.  “I functioned and went to the grocery store.”

She motioned me to come, opening the back of her Jeep to reveal bags and a tote filled with something green. “We’re going to plant these in honor of David.”

David, my beloved. David, whose interest in planting and gardening I did not share. I couldn’t imagine enjoying something I had resisted so long; the dirt underneath the fingernails, the back-breaking shoveling, standing out in the hot sun watering wilting plants. I’d been thrilled when David developed an interest in gardening. I’d encouraged him to buy decorative pots, I’d bought him a new shovel, picked up books on gardening. He’d gone flower shopping with our daughter Rachel,cajoled our son into making him a raised bed, talked planting with anyone who would listen, learned the names of flowers, used stones to decorate a flower bed. I’d studiously avoided joining him in his endeavors, not the least bit interested in gardening. And now Joan wanted me to dig holes and plant flowers?

It was the best thing I could have done.

Joan spent a good part of the afternoon outside with me and the girls, planting the flowers she’d dug out of her own yard, incorporating lessons on roots and rhombus, nitroglycerin and soil. I got my hands dirty. I wept a little, wishing I had done this with David instead of being perplexed by his hobby. In the next instant, I thought about how if it had been me who had died, David would have looked at my desk and my drawers of stationery, and shook his head. We each had our own interests, and that was fine. I grinned a full-fledged grin when Joan informed me the transplants would need regular watering for a while, and she hoped they would flourish. Nothing like making it obvious that she thought a little sunshine and physical activity would be good for me.

By the time Pat visited with me on the porch after her work, I was feeling pretty good.  I’d jotted down some ideas for future articles and essays. I knew I would soon be writing about David and the spiritual growth I’d been experiencing. Yes, even in my grief I have seen God’s work. I wanted to drop everything and write all afternoon and well into the night; about everything that had happened. Then my niece Morgan stopped by and read books to Abby until her voice was hoarse. By the time my sister Jane called me at 11:00 p.m. (my sisters are assuming I am not sleeping at that hour, and they are correct in their assumption) I could truthfully tell her I’d had a good day.  A good day, just one week after the death of my beloved husband! I know how the labyrinth of grief works; there are many dark nights and bad days ahead, many tears and cries of anguish, but thank the Good Lord, today was good.

Author:

Author, public speaker, and workshop presenter for community colleges, libraries, women's groups and for grief support groups, Hospice and retreats. Certified grief counselor and Senior Service librarian for the James Kennedy Public library. Popular public speaker and workshop presenter on the topics of writing, couponing, utilizing your creativity in everyday life, and finding hope in grief. "Coupon Crazy: The Science, the Savings, and the Stories Behind America's Extreme Obsession" was published by Familius Publishing in 2014. "Chemo-Therapist: How Cancer Cured a Marriage" and "Refined By Fire: A Journey of Grief and Grace" were released by Familius in 2014. "Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink," co-written with Mary Jedlicka Humston of Iowa City, was published in September 2015. Grief journal to be released in 2018.

3 thoughts on “A Good Day

  1. I am so glad that you had a good day Mary. Like I said, you have to go through all of those “firsts”. It is hard sometimes but you will get through it. You have family support and that helps tremendously. Remember, David wouldn’t want you to quit doing what you love the most, writing. I am glad to hear that you are still writing and going to still give your couponing speach. I realized that when I had my heart attack that you only live once so live life with no regrets. Don’t regret anything. Do what makes you happy and David will be watching you. He is your number one fan!

  2. Get out your copy of “Secret Garden” which I’m sure you have a copy of as it’s a wonderful book written for children but enjoyed by many adults. In this book, Mary’s guardian asks her if she wants toys, books, dolls. She replies, “Might I have a bit of earth?” She has found the secret garden long neglected after her guardian’s wife died. Underneath all the dead and twisted debris from years of neglect, lie green shoots, roots which are still alive. With the help of neighbor Dicken, and later the crippled boy Colin (who is healed thanks to working in the garden) the secret garden comes to life and flourishes.
    Although anyone else looking at the garden would say “it’s dead, there’s no hope of restoring it’s beauty” these three children didn’t give up. They brought life back to the garden and it brought life back to them.
    Whenever I feel sad, or overwhelmed by life, I retreat to my “garden” and work in the flowerbeds; planting, weeding, watering, whatever needs to be done. I become one with nature. It’s the best stress reducer I’ve found to make me feel whole again. Seeing the results of my labor in the beauty of flowers, and the singing of the birds, and humming of the bees is balm to my soul. In the winter, I look through seed catalogs and magazines, and plan the changes I will make. I chafe at being confined indoors, and sometimes I go for a walk all bundled up just to get out in the fresh air. It helps a little to make the winter bearable, but I anticipate spring when green starts poking out of the ground and the earth awakens again.
    Although I know other people might not enjoy gardening as I do, I firmly believe that anyone can benefit from spending time outdoors to enjoy the beauty that God has given to us. And if all you do is water a few plants and cut some flowers to bring indoors, you will be healed in some way.
    Mary, keep in mind that the flowers I brought might look dead or wilted for a while, because of the shock from moving them. But keep watering them if it doesn’t rain, and they will take hold and flourish in their new home. Your earth is dark and rich and they will love it!

  3. How ironic that we turn to the earth for healing. I too spent Sunday afternoon in the yard, digging deep with a shovel to transplant ornamental grasses to a more spacious, more sunny location in my yard. I needed a distraction from David and all that occurred last week with your family. I’ve been numb since last Tuesday when I received the awful news that he had passed. But somehow working in the soil, pulling on the grasses to split them into manageable clumps, and placing them into freshly dug holes lined with rich fertilizer helped me deal with the grief a little easier. My mind and body were tired when I finished…but it was a good kind of tired. And the sadness seemed to dissipate, if only for a few hours.

Leave a Reply

