Some Fun Things That Arrived in the Mail While I Was Busy Elsewhere

One of the women who stopped at our garage sale talked books with Joan and I for quite a while, dropping author’s names and book titles like a well-to-do woman might with shoe and purse brand names. Recognizing a kindred book-lover, Joan and I became quite animated in our conversation, gesturing with our hands and speaking from the heart. Like me, Joan is an avid reader, and we know a book-lover when we meet one.

I hadn’t had time to pick it up until this morning, but during the garage sale a package was delivered, one that held this new book, Flashlight Memories, an anthology of essays and poems  from Silver Boomer Books, recalling childhood reading memories.  I have an essay featured in the book, and will be giving away a couple of copies on my blog when my extra copies arrive. 

The other arrival in the mailbox was the May 20, 2011 issue of All You magazine. David and I are featured on page 106, in a feature about special songs. Our song has always been Neil Diamond’s “Forever in Blue Jeans.”

3 thoughts on “Some Fun Things That Arrived in the Mail While I Was Busy Elsewhere

  1. Jacki says:

    Can’t wait to run out and get a copy of this book!!! Not only does it sound wonderful, I know it will be all the better with your essay included. I love your writing style:-))

  2. Pat says:

    I was just starting to read my copy of All You; haven’t gotten to that part yet. That will be awesome. Congratulations!!

  3. Jennifer Short says:

    Me, too. I have my All You here to read. If you want me to drop that page in the mail for you so you have an extra just let me (or mom) know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

