A first for me in the couponing world

I’ve been using coupons for over 30 years but today was my first time using a cellphone coupon.  When I saw that Gap was offering a mobile coupon for $25 off a $50 purchase, I wasn’t sure I could use it with a simple Tracphone, but sure enough, after typing in my cell phone number a text message arrived in my phone with a code to show the cashier. 

http://tinyurl.com/5ttshbl

Of course, I hit the clearance racks, and ended up with four pairs of socks, 1 pair of pajamas, with top and matching bottom, 5 soft pajama tops in varying sizes, two pairs of shorts, two pairs of pants, and a shirt, 16 total items for just $26.

Then I decided to experiment with Walmart’s new coupon policy.  According to the updated coupon policy posted on their website:

  • Coupons may exceed the price of the item. Change may be given or applied toward the cost of the basket purchase

I found that very interesting and decided to “test” this concept.  My first trip through I had several non-coupon items in my cart, including two sets of twin sheets that were marked down to $6 on clearance.  I used $2.50 off 2 Kotex U coupons on the lightdays pads that are $1.24 a box, Gain $3 coupons for the $1.87 size of Gain dryer sheets and $3 off Purex 3-in-1 coupons on the 2-sheet size that retails for only 97-cents. Normally I would just wait until I found Purex 3-in-1 on sale, but those coupons expire soon and I hadn’t found a sale yet. There were no problems with that first trip and the overage on the Gain and Purex paid for my sheet sets.  My second trip through a different line was another story.  I had the same things in my cart, but no sheets this time. Instead, I’d added an aquarium and some hamster food to my order, thinking perhaps those items would be paid for with the overage.  This cashier paused when she saw the coupon amounts, and told me she could only take $1.87 for the Gain and 97-cents for the Purex.  I politely told her that Walmart had changed their coupon policy and she could now take off the full amount. She called the manager. I had no problem with that at all, and in fact, had expected it with my first trip. The manager had no clue about the new policy, so I asked her to look it up online. (I should have printed it out and carried it with me) I remained polite and calm, but the cashier was getting more and more agitated for some reason.  “Look here, it says only one per purchase. You can only use one.” I explained the difference between purchase and transaction and showed her how it said the same thing on the other coupons, but that some say “one per person” or “one per transaction,” which has a different meaning. I could tell she didn’t appreciate the coupon lesson coming from a customer. The manager returned and told her I could use the coupons. The cashier did not look happy about it, but the customer behind me complimented me on my savings. I handed her three coupons for items she was purchasing, telling her she could save $3.50 for being patient behind me. 

The picture shows the products I was getting paid to take out of the store. I ended up with 15 Purex, 8 Gain and 8 Kotex pads free.  I wouldn’t try this at our hometown small Walmart, where cashiers seem to freak out over my coupons, but I’ll probably try it again sometime at a Super Walmart.

2 thoughts on “A first for me in the couponing world

Leave a Reply

