Posted in letter-writing, stationery

A love affair~ with paper

I have written before this regarding my fascination with all things paper.  I am sure there is a scrapbooker inside of me simply because of that fascination. I cannot pass up a good deal on scrapbooking supplies any more than I can do without a clearance box of stationery. Beside the fact that I am a writer and I deal with paper and pen on a daily basis, I am also an avid letter-writer. I am a great fan of Alexandra Stoddard books, such as her tome on letter writing, Gifts of a Letter.  I love the way she writes about paper and pens and find myself practically drooling over her description of her files and bins of fine papers. The fact that she might use colored ink with a $500 fountain pen to write a simple note does not detract from the fact that we share a common interest in the love of paper.  I am sure my cupboard of boxed stationery, printer paper, inexpensive Papermate pens and assorted envelopes doesn’t hold a candle to Stoddard’s stash, but it still pleases me:

I haven’t decided yet if my paper obsession is a healthy or an unhealthy one, but I lean towards it being healthy since I do use the papers and pens and not just hoard them. I also have the decidedly healthy habit of sharing my bounty with others; as Christmas gifts for an equally-obsessed daughter and sister. I regularly go through my cupboards and get rid of any stationery, paper, or pens that are no longer pleasing to me. If you are under the illusion that paper is paper and a pen is a pen, you are sadly mistaken. The thickness or the texture of a piece of paper can make a huge difference in the enjoyment of writing on it.  The same goes for whatever instrument one uses to write with. I don’t like writing with pencil at all, and prefer a blue ink to a black, along with a very rounded nib instead of a sharp one.

It is evident that I have more than a passing interest in papers and pens when I browse the stationery aisles of a store. Even at thrift stores I will search for vintage stationery and scrapbooking supplies. And when it comes to online sales of stationery products, I can’t resist at least perusing the virtual aisles of offerings.  Which is why I used my Living Social $5 sign-up bonus to purchase a gift certificate from Vistaprint today.

http://livingsocial.com/deals/23220?ref=personalized-link-box-5420771&rpi=5420771

For $10, TODAY ONLY, you can purchase a $50 gift certificate for personalized stationery, business cards and even mugs. Even without the $5 bonus, this is a must-do offer for any paper lover. I’m sure I’ll be able to find $50 worth of paper products for my $5 investment. And this is one of the few offers I can’t resist sharing with my paper-loving friends.

Author:

Author, public speaker, and workshop presenter for community colleges, libraries, women's groups and for grief support groups, Hospice and retreats. Certified grief counselor and Senior Service librarian for the James Kennedy Public library. Popular public speaker and workshop presenter on the topics of writing, couponing, utilizing your creativity in everyday life, and finding hope in grief. "Coupon Crazy: The Science, the Savings, and the Stories Behind America's Extreme Obsession" was published by Familius Publishing in 2014. "Chemo-Therapist: How Cancer Cured a Marriage" and "Refined By Fire: A Journey of Grief and Grace" were released by Familius in 2014. "Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink," co-written with Mary Jedlicka Humston of Iowa City, was published in September 2015. Grief journal to be released in 2018.

Leave a Reply

