A Nightmare

I wish this was a bad dream.

I’ve been down at Beth’s house cleaning for her arrival home with Jacob. I added some soup from a friend and lasagna to her freezer for this week.  When I got home, a phone call awaited me.

Someone please explain to me how two parents can be ready to bring their little boy home only to have a doctor come in and tell them that the tumor is NOT the favorable kind, after all. This doesn’t seem right. My poor daughter and son-in-law. My poor little grandson.

What do I pray for now?

9 thoughts on “A Nightmare

  1. mylifewithcrazyboys says:

    I am so sorry. That is just wrong that they gave the wrong information. Someone is in some hot water. I pray for all of you. Again, so sorry.

  2. Rarely Sara says:

    I have only been reading your blog, and Elizabeth’s too, since Jacob was diagnosed. I am so sorry that the cancer isn’t the most treatable kind. I can’t imagine how this news must feel. I will be praying for your entire family.

  3. Lisa says:

    Mary-
    I am praying for everyone. I am heartbroken for you. God does many Miracles and I am praying he lays his hands on Jacob and gives him one. Prayers for all of you. I just don’t know what to say.

    Love and many prayers and blessing to everyone.

    your friend,
    Lisa

  4. Pat says:

    You trust in the Lord to get you and your family through this. The only other alternative is to give in to despair; and that will drag you right down to an ugly state. TAKE ONE DAY AT A TIME; all of us have THIS day; none of us is guaranteed more than that. Please do not focus on the long term or you won’t be able to enjoy what you have right now. Jacob is alive right now; he needs his family and love; you can give him so much, Mary. You pray for strength, my dear sister; pray for strength. I love you very much; and wish you didn’t have to deal with this.

  5. Deb says:

    Pat said it well… you gotta keep hope alive and live one day at a time. It is not right that the doctors are giving conflicting info at a time when you all need stability. May tomorrow be a better day. Praying for Jacob and his family (including you)… Blessings!

  6. LaVonna says:

    Ok, y’all all bless the family (I will pray for that too. Blessings to rain down upon them). BUT, please, give me about 15 minutes with that/those doctors. If one test says one thing and a second says another then I think a third is in order. I am not crazy about the medical world but it would seem to be very wise to not give any results until all test results are in.

    And I will hush now.

Leave a Reply

