Posted in cancer

On Christmas Day

Yesterday was a difficult day for me. In my 30 years of parenting I have not had a child missing from our Christmas Eve celebration and last night Elizabeth would be in the hospital with our grandson Jacob.  Ben and the other two children braved snow-covered roads to get to Iowa City to be with them. (in hindsight not a good idea since Ben sighted several vehicles in the ditch on his way down) I volunteered to shovel the driveway just so that I could get outside and work through some of my emotions.  Bad enough that I am missing my mother this first Christmas without her, now I had to bear the absence of my daughter, the son-in-law I love like my own son and my three sweet little grandchildren.  I admit it~ I was feeling sorry for myself and shed a few tears that froze to my cheeks. 

Then I thought about Beth and Jacob in that hospital room and I cried some more.  While I am grateful for Jacob’s continued healing from surgery, I am well aware that his journey through cancer is just beginning. One month from now, three months from today, six months and on his 6th birthday, he will still be fighting the fight. He is already small and thin~ what will the treatment do to him?  And what about my daughter? I wouldn’t wish this journey on my worst enemy.

Today I will share my daughter’s own words regarding her son’s cancer;

http://tinyurl.com/2cpk9tm

Author:

Author, public speaker, and workshop presenter for community colleges, libraries, women's groups and for grief support groups, Hospice and retreats. Certified grief counselor and Senior Service librarian for the James Kennedy Public library. Popular public speaker and workshop presenter on the topics of writing, couponing, utilizing your creativity in everyday life, and finding hope in grief. "Coupon Crazy: The Science, the Savings, and the Stories Behind America's Extreme Obsession" was published by Familius Publishing in 2014. "Chemo-Therapist: How Cancer Cured a Marriage" and "Refined By Fire: A Journey of Grief and Grace" were released by Familius in 2014. "Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink," co-written with Mary Jedlicka Humston of Iowa City, was published in September 2015. Grief journal to be released in 2018.

2 thoughts on “On Christmas Day

  1. The only solace I can offer you is that I love you and care for you; wishing of course, that none of you had to go through this. As I get older, I ask myself “why” a lot more than I used to. But “why” doesn’t matter in the long run. You WILL get through this; there is not much alternative. Live for the present; that is all any of us have for sure; enjoy every little positive thing you can; try not to focus on the future and what Jacob has to go through. Each day you have with him will be a wonderful blessing!! May they be long days- thinking of you and yours today-Pat

  2. Don’t worry this can be a Hero’s Christmas some heroic deeds i have seen in the last few months Irma who in death has become a hero of mine who may have saved my soul and family. My son Jacob who showed me bravery that i can never have and from a little boy. And you Mary for the superhuman feats ive witnesed in you this pass week you all are my hero’s !

Leave a Reply

