Posted in books

Bitten by the book bug…

The last few days in Iowa have brought sleet, snow, high winds and even a blizzard warning.  You know, typical Iowa winter weather. 

A perfect time for a cup of hot cocoa and a good book.

Only I avoided the book part of the equation for most of the weekend.

Then I read in my Publisher’s Weekly magazine that Jodi Picoult has a new book coming out in March, Sing Away Home. With a pang, I realized I hadn’t yet gotten to her last book, House Rules. Anyone who knows me well knows that Jodi Picoult is one of my favorite authors. I can’t think of another time in my life when I wouldn’t have immediately read the newest release by Picoult as soon as I had my hands on it, and yet, there it sits on my to-read shelf, along with Elizabeth Berg’s last book. 

Sigh.

During the bout of bad weather in Iowa I worked on my book, made Christmas cookies with the kids, cleaned the office (again), wrapped a few gifts, and avoided reading like the plague. Why couldn’t I allow myself to be lost in a good book? The weather was perfect for it. My daughter Emily was holed out in her bedroom for two days, reading. Even my husband David sat reading at the kitchen table for several hours.

By 3:00 Sunday afternoon, the kids were engrossed in decorating cookies and I finally decided to indulge myself.  (I did consider it a little sad that reading was becoming an indulgence for me) I headed to the bookshelf where there are two shelves holding all the books I hope to read this winter, a daunting prospect:

I wasn’t about to choose a Picoult book that late in the day. I knew from experience that I am unable to sleep until I finish one of her books. Instead, I chose this book:

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, by Alan Bradley. I assumed that a mystery with an eleven-year-old protagonist would be easier to put down than a Picoult for the night, and I might even be able to spread the reading out over several days.

I was wrong. 

I started reading at 3:30 p.m.  Hooked by the plot, I carried it with me as I prepared a supper of goulash. I didn’t stop reading while I later took a hot bubble bath. (book held well above the bubbles) I finished at 9:30 and rushed to the computer to see if there are any more books in the series.

Oh, my.  Not only are there five more books in the Flavia de Luce mystery series, the fictional eleven-year-old has her own fan club. I immediately ordered the next book from Half.com and added the others to my PaperBackSwap wish list.

Let’s hope this winter brings a few more snowstorms our way.

Author:

Author, public speaker, and workshop presenter for community colleges, libraries, women's groups and for grief support groups, Hospice and retreats. Certified grief counselor and Senior Service librarian for the James Kennedy Public library. Popular public speaker and workshop presenter on the topics of writing, couponing, utilizing your creativity in everyday life, and finding hope in grief. "Coupon Crazy: The Science, the Savings, and the Stories Behind America's Extreme Obsession" was published by Familius Publishing in 2014. "Chemo-Therapist: How Cancer Cured a Marriage" and "Refined By Fire: A Journey of Grief and Grace" were released by Familius in 2014. "Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink," co-written with Mary Jedlicka Humston of Iowa City, was published in September 2015. Grief journal to be released in 2018.

One thought on “Bitten by the book bug…

  1. Very interesting. I’ve been bitten recently as well! watched Gene Simmons on TV, an episode about his mother and being in the concentration camps. Renewed my interest in the subject, and I ordered 2 books from Amazon with my free amazon credits that I get from swagbucks. Can’t wait to get them. : )

Leave a Reply

