Posted in Uncategorized

LIVE

There’s a definite advantage to working at my sister’s consignment store.  Spend six hours there, and you are bound to find something amazing that you didn’t even know you needed.

Like the “LIVE” sign above. 

You don’t need to tell a cancer survivor to “live.”  David already appreciates even the littlest things; the molasses cookies our daughter Beth bakes, the beautiful roses on our table from our other daughter Rachel, tomatoes fresh from our son Dan’s garden, a bowl of hot homemade soup~ everything looks and tastes better, especially when given with love.  And David enjoys all of it. He will be in the middle of a conversation and spontaneously reach over and grab my hand to tell me how beautiful I am. (chemo may have had some effect on his optical nerves)

No, I don’t need to remind David to live his life; he already does.  The sign is a reminder for me.

Now all I need to do is paint the entry way so I can hang up my LIVE sign.

Kind of like how I picked up these decorative plates for my kitchen because the background of the plates is the color I want to paint my kitchen.

Don’t most people probably do it the other way around?  Paint their walls and then purchase pictures and wall hangings?

Me? I buy the pictures and then paint the walls to match.

I’ve wanted to paint the kitchen walls the dark brick color ever since I saw the neighbor’s kitchen painted in those colors.  She has black and white marble counters that I want too, so I’m not even waiting to hang those plates up because I know it will be awhile before we can even consider my plans for the kitchen.

But the entryway~ that will be an October project.  I have the paint and a husband willing to help, so I should be able to hang that sign soon.

The sunflower picture will have to go.

The two signs over the doorway in the entryway can stay.

But the wallpaper?  I want it to go, but have never removed wallpaper before, so not sure how much work it would be.  David, on the other hand, wants to keep the wallpaper.

Perhaps all I really need is the right picture to change his mind.

This one didn’t do the trick, despite the fact it really doesn’t match the flower print wallpaper.

But then, it does match the can of paint we have.

Author:

Author, public speaker, and workshop presenter for community colleges, libraries, women's groups and for grief support groups, Hospice and retreats. Certified grief counselor and Senior Service librarian for the James Kennedy Public library. Popular public speaker and workshop presenter on the topics of writing, couponing, utilizing your creativity in everyday life, and finding hope in grief. "Coupon Crazy: The Science, the Savings, and the Stories Behind America's Extreme Obsession" was published by Familius Publishing in 2014. "Chemo-Therapist: How Cancer Cured a Marriage" and "Refined By Fire: A Journey of Grief and Grace" were released by Familius in 2014. "Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink," co-written with Mary Jedlicka Humston of Iowa City, was published in September 2015. Grief journal to be released in 2018.

3 thoughts on “LIVE

Leave a Reply

