Cheerio, mate!

Today I wanted to temporarily forget about some negative things going on in my life so I decided to leave town in the afternoon, coupon box in tow.  I realized then that for me, couponing is more than a tool for good deals, it is a form of escapism.

I knew Hy-Vee was having a super sale on General Mills cereal, with a $10 off 6 boxes coupon in their ad, which could be combined with my coupons.  To make the deal even sweeter, a $6 catalina coupon would come out of the register and I could use it on the next order of cereal.  My first order of 6 boxes cost less than $5, and sure enough, a $6 coupon on your next order popped out.  I went through again, this time using the $6 coupon to pay for my order.  (some cereals were higher than others, the cheapest was the Cinnamon Toast Crunch at $2.49 a box)  My husband was enjoying a cup of coffee while I went through three different times, and curious, he came over to watch me with my last order which was 6 boxes of cereal.  When I handed the cashier a mere 24-cents for my order, his eyes widened considerably. When he saw the $6 on your next order coupon come out of the register, it dawned on him why I was so excited about this deal. As you can see from the photo, I did it 4 times.  I hear some of the stores have $1 peelie coupons on the regular Cheerios, which would make this an even better deal. I only had coupons for 50-cents off each box.

We also stopped at Salvation Army (more 12 for $1 books and a really, really cool Christmas gift for Emily) and HalfPrice Books where I got $14 for a big box of magazines.

So it was a good day of good deals and I’ve already stored the cereal in a top cupboard in the kitchen.

Unfortunately, when I got back home, my problems were still there.

5 thoughts on “Cheerio, mate!

  1. Pat says:

    Way to go, girl!! What great deals; it sounds like you had some good luck. It is so nice to escape lifes’ problems even if for only a short time; don’t you think it gives you that breather that you really need ? We need that getting away to help us cope once again with what we are dealt. Some things are not going to change; but we need to get our minds cleared . Glad you were able to “get away”!!

  2. Lisa says:

    Mary-
    Great job my friend.. where in the world did you get 50c coupons on one box? Wow that is awesome.
    I hope your doing ok? Is it anything I can help with.. Prayers your way my friend.

    Lisa

    • Mary Potter Kenyon says:

      Lisa, I still have some old No Expiration Date coupons in coupon box from a long time ago, for Cheerios, Lucky Charms, Trix, and the Cinnamon Toast Crunch! I could have done the deal a few more times. My daughter found the boxes of regular Cheerios with $1 peelie coupons right on the box.

  3. Fawn says:

    Eh, the pink 1.00 off peelies found on some boxes state that they cannot be combined with any other coupons………plus, we got some of the boxes with the peelies and the peelies would NOT come off 😦 Its a great deal though, even without a coupon!

  4. Beth says:

    I am not sure if they expired or not, but there were 50¢ Cheerio coupons out in the newspapers. I remember using some about two weeks ago. You could check on some of the coupon clipping sites. I am also not sure where these came from as mine were given to me, but I had 75¢ coupons on Cheerios. When I doubled them I got totally free Cheerios. These coupons must have came from somewhere other than the newspaper because they are not newspaper thin.

Leave a Reply

