Posted in Uncategorized

A Hefty deal

Today I brought home 40 boxes of Hefty Fresh Extend bags.

You might be asking yourself WHY?

I sometimes ask myself the same thing.

I bought them because they were free.

A couple of weeks ago David and I stopped at a Hy-Vee store and I saw a wall full of these bags, on clearance for 50-cents each, marked down from $2.19. I knew I had a few $1 off 2 coupons in my coupon box and ended up getting 6 of them totally free.  Then I hopped online and found a seller on eBay that had 20 of the same coupons for $1.49 with free shipping, and I bought them.  (so, yes, I did pay $1.49 for 40 boxes, but I’ll be selling them for $1 each at my garage sale, for a profit of $38) Then today the girls and I were in that same town so I stopped to see if the bags were still there.  They were.  I loaded up my cart with 40 boxes, then hunted the aisles for any other super deals.  Cinnamon Toast Crunch and Cheerios were on sale for $1.50 a box. Cinnamon Toast Crunch is one of the kid’s favorites.  I had 10 50-cents coupons, so got 10 boxes of cereal for $10.  The one box of Cheerios I got was only 50-cents off after the $1 coupon I had.  Fuze drinks were on sale for $1 each.  I normally don’t buy these but they are low in sugar and a nice treat for a hot day.  They were 25-cents each after my 75-cents coupons.

My girls had fun at the Salvation Army thrift store, where Katie found a darling monkey themed billfold and a purse that looked brand new.  Emily found a big purse in the 25-cents bin and a couple shirts.  I found… more books for 12/$1, several that looked brand new.  Emily, at 14, is a really smart shopper.  Her aunt Julie gave her a gift card for $20 for her birthday.  That girl filled a huge bag with that gift card, concentrating on the $1, $2 and $3 racks. She came home with one pair of shoes (the highest priced item), 3 belts, 2 pairs of sunglasses, two dresses, and a couple shirts, all for $20.  Wonder where she learned to shop like that?  :o)

Author:

Author, public speaker, and workshop presenter for community colleges, libraries, women's groups and for grief support groups, Hospice and retreats. Certified grief counselor and Senior Service librarian for the James Kennedy Public library. Popular public speaker and workshop presenter on the topics of writing, couponing, utilizing your creativity in everyday life, and finding hope in grief. "Coupon Crazy: The Science, the Savings, and the Stories Behind America's Extreme Obsession" was published by Familius Publishing in 2014. "Chemo-Therapist: How Cancer Cured a Marriage" and "Refined By Fire: A Journey of Grief and Grace" were released by Familius in 2014. "Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink," co-written with Mary Jedlicka Humston of Iowa City, was published in September 2015. Grief journal to be released in 2018.

One thought on “A Hefty deal

  1. Well I just did a great bit comment, but it was lost, said my email wasn’t right? Great shopping Mary.. afraid it won’t go through again.. LOL

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

