Writing and mothering, Oh My!

Write. Remember, people may keep you (or me) from being a published author but no one can stop you from being a writer. All you have to do is write. And keep writing. While you’ve working at a career, while you’re raising children, while you’re trout-fishing- Keep writing! No one can stop you but you.

-Katherine Neville

I’ve been reading some other writer’s blogs and enjoying the commiseration and inspiration.  Wednesday was a very productive writing day for me.  I’d planned ahead for it, doing extra reading and math with the little girls the day before so that I could leave, guilt-free, early Wednesday morning.  I wrote at the restaurant for two hours, then rode my bike to the library to type away.  I e-mailed what I’d typed out to myself, avoiding my computer until later in the day when I could print that out and carry it with me on a bike ride, where I sat and edited some more while my girls played on a computer at the library. That evening found me at a park with yet another edited version to work on.  I didn’t waste any time yesterday, either, editing both before and after a walk with my sister and working at the table later in the afternoon while the girls played.

It can be done, but as a mother at home with her children, writing takes a bit of juggling.

Summer is fast approaching, the time when many mother-writer’s lament their lack of writing time because the kids are home from school. For me, it is the opposite.  I look forward to the long days of summer when I actually have more time for writing.  I did the majority of the work on my current book last summer, once spending a magnificent seven hours in one day writing. Since we homeschool, my mornings entail a lot of reading with an aspiring reader, answering math questions, and generally pushing (encouraging?) my children to get things done. Even as a more eclectic, relaxed-type homeschooling family, we expect a certain amount of academics done each day. And that usually takes an adult’s involvement, that adult being me. Despite the fact that one or more of my children might need to continue their math studies through the summer, there is usually a relaxation of expectations (both mine and the neighbor’s!) during those months.  If my child is outside playing in the yard at 9:00 a.m., so are the neighbor’s children, so I don’t need to feel as though I have to explain their presence in the yard instead of inside a building where everyone expects children to be during the day all school year.

And since we moved to town my children can now be involved in the summer activities we never participated in while we lived in the country; pool passes, swimming classes, Adventure or Bible Camp.  Last summer I was able to drop the little girl’s off at a Bible Camp and go home and write for two uninterrupted hours, unheard of for me!

Yes, I am eagerly awaiting June, and not just for the warmth of summer.

One thought on “Writing and mothering, Oh My!

  1. Susan says:

    Mary,
    Your posts about writing are so very encouraging to me. Thank you!

    Yes, I am already looking forward to a full week of evenings during VBS when my husband and girls will be away. Write, write, write!

Leave a Reply

