Posted in good deal

Another fun shopping trip.

I stopped at Walmart tonight and found some things on clearance to add to my garage sale stash.  The Perfect 10 hair color all rang up at $5 and I had $5 coupons. The Reach floss was free with $1 coupons, the Schick razors were on clearance for $4 and I used my $3 off coupons, and the Gillette deodorant was on clearance for $3 and I had $4 off 2 coupons. At some stores I would also have used my Buy Gillette deodorant get free body wash coupons but not in this small-town Walmart. As it was, I had a lot of trouble with my coupons and the cashier, who I know has worked there 20+ years said she’d never seen so many coupons. She had to ask me why the CSM needed to come to the register and I informed her that when a customer uses a certain amount of coupons the CSM has to come over and override the register. She was nice about it, just clueless.  Then off to Fareway where I used some of my $1 off GE bulb coupons to get 8 packages of free lightbulbs and $1 Marcal toilet paper coupons to get 4-packs for 19-cents each. All of this is going into boxes to be stored on the attic steps for my garage sale.

I have less than a month to prepare for my garage sale. Pricing alone usually takes me two or three weeks. My spring sale is always the biggest and the best because I have the winter months to deal-hunt. This one will be big, but not as big as last April when I’d had a winter of double couponing at K-Mart with my husband. K-Marts will be doubling again in early April, but only 5 coupons per person per day, hardly worth my trip even with my husband in tow.  In 2008 they doubled up to 75 coupons per person.  We’d each walk out with a cart load of merchandise valued at $160-$180 that we paid less than $10 for. I knew then it couldn’t last. It was just too much fun.

Author:

Author, public speaker, and workshop presenter for community colleges, libraries, women's groups and for grief support groups, Hospice and retreats. Certified grief counselor and Senior Service librarian for the James Kennedy Public library. Popular public speaker and workshop presenter on the topics of writing, couponing, utilizing your creativity in everyday life, and finding hope in grief. "Coupon Crazy: The Science, the Savings, and the Stories Behind America's Extreme Obsession" was published by Familius Publishing in 2014. "Chemo-Therapist: How Cancer Cured a Marriage" and "Refined By Fire: A Journey of Grief and Grace" were released by Familius in 2014. "Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink," co-written with Mary Jedlicka Humston of Iowa City, was published in September 2015. Grief journal to be released in 2018.

Leave a Reply

