Posted in writing

Queries and Agents and Publishers, Oh My!

Ever since I got my online version of the Writer’s Market  http://tinyurl.com/yd3yham   I’ve spent part of each day looking at websites for writers, researching agents and publishers and checking out possible markets for some of my writing. For those of you who are writers or wannabe writers I highly recommend paying for this website access if you haven’t already. You might want to consider purchasing their Writer’s Market Deluxe Edition for 2010, which includes a free code for online access.

This morning I’ve been hanging out with other writers at   http://absoultewrite.com/  in the forum section, where agents and publishers, markets and warnings are freely discussed.  It is in a forum like this I initially heard the words “partial” and “full” to describe what an agent requests on the basis of a query. I’ve sent out a lot of queries since January, and have had both a partial and a full requested, a partial meaning part of my book package (book proposal) and a full meaning the whole thing; my book proposal and my manuscript.  This is a good thing in the world of book publishing. It means I am doing something right.

I’ve had several people recently ask me how I find markets for my work.  If you are just starting out,  http://www.christwriters.info/   lists a lot of smaller Christian markets, and Hope Clark also has market listings over at   http://tinyurl.com/yahw6p8    

Since I am a bit partial to anthologies (I will be featured in two different anthology books this summer) I also like to check out  Anthologies Online at   http://tinyurl.com/bs6uov   where just this morning I discovered another possible market for my work in the Kiwi Publishing “Thin Threads” anthologies. Submission deadline is March 28th, my husband’s birthday,   http://tinyurl.com/y9c4dp3 

Finding markets for my work really isn’t the difficult part of writing. I mostly write for a market I’ve already discovered.

Finding the time and getting started is the hard part.

Author:

Author, public speaker, and workshop presenter for community colleges, libraries, women's groups and for grief support groups, Hospice and retreats. Reporter for the Manchester Press newspaper and popular public speaker and workshop presenter on the topics of writing and finding hope in grief. "Coupon Crazy: The Science, the Savings, and the Stories Behind America's Extreme Obsession" was published by Familius Publishing in 2014. "Chemo-Therapist: How Cancer Cured a Marriage" and "Refined By Fire: A Journey of Grief and Grace" were released by Familius in 2014. "Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink," co-written with Mary Jedlicka Humston of Iowa City, was published in September 2015.

Leave a Reply

