Coupon shopping

A sight like this no longer scares my husband because he knows I wouldn’t buy 20 packs of toilet paper or 14 Schick razors unless I had coupons for them and didn’t pay very much.

Yesterday Abby and I went to Dubuque to meet my sister Joan for lunch. I’d planned my strategy for shopping beforehand, even organizing my coupon box. Our first stop was Target, where I saved $99 with coupons. The best deal was on Kashi Heart Healthy crackers. This week if you buy 4 Kashi crackers you get the granola bars free.  I had one free coupon from Vocalpoint and 3 $1.50 coupons. My total cost for the four boxes of crackers and the box of granola bars was $3.27.

At Walgreens I was excited to see the Schick Quattro women’s razors, regularly priced $8.99, on clearance for $4.49. I bought 14 and used my $4 coupons. These will be priced at $3 each for my garage sale. Total coupon savings at Walgreens was $81.74 and I have $13 in catalina coupons to use next week.

I was excited to see the Marcal toilet paper (double rolls) on sale at Hy-Vee for $1.99 so I could use up my 20 $2 coupons, getting 20 4-packs free. These will be priced at $1.50 each.

Of course, I got some good deals for our family too; deodorant and toothpaste free after coupons, Scott toilet paper (our favorite), Quaker oatmeal and some Goody ponytail holders for Katie on clearance at Walgreens for 75% off.

Where do I put all this stuff?

Some is stored in the hallway cabinet for our own use.

Some of my stockpile stuff is stored in boxes and totes on the attic steps. What you see in this picture is less than half of what I am storing for my April garage sale. You can’t see the rest that is stored in the corner.

I use string tags and small safety pins to price the clothing, pinning the tags to the size tags. I purchase garage sale stickers for the rest. Books are individually priced with a sticker on the back cover, usually covering the ISBN. Health and beauty items are also individually priced.  Since I do a multi-family sale, I take the stickers off everyone else’s items to keep track, but just write my sales down as we go.  This will be our third summer in this house and my husband already has co-workers asking when Mary will have her first sale! 

I’m looking forward to Spring and garage sale weather.

One thought on “Coupon shopping

  1. Carmen says:

    Marcal is the biggest air and water polluter in the state of New Jersey. They have been fined almost a billion dollars by the EPA, and do much more harm than good. They filed Chapter 11 to avoid paying for the clean up, and also used it as an opportunity to break their union contract. Nice guys, huh? Then when they emerged from bankruptcy, they painted themselves green. For them to claim to be a green, eco-friendly company is a joke, as well as a lie.

Leave a Reply

