Posted in Uncategorized, writing

Sitting, just sitting here, day after day…

“Sitting just sitting here, day after day. It’s work. How I hate it. I’d much rather play.”

So said the lazy bird watching her egg in the famous Horton Hatches an Egg book. I know this and remember it not from reading that book to my children over and over, but from my high school drama years when I memorized the entire story for a speech contest.  Other random parts of speeches are imbedded in my brain for no apparent reason including these two lines from another speech;

I am dying, Egypt, dying. Ebbs the crimson lifetide fast.                              And the dark Plutonian shadows gather on the evening blast.”

Today, as I wait to hear from an agent who is reviewing my book proposal, I feel like that bird, sitting and waiting here, day after day.  The writing is more like play for me, as I like nothing better than to juggle words, sentences and nuances of emotion. Oh, but the submitting and the waiting can be excruciating!

So, I don’t wait. As soon as I submit one thing, I begin work on another. If something comes back, rejected, I look at it with a fresh eye, perhaps make some changes, and send it elsewhere.  I am still waiting but the time seems less interminable. If I have half a dozen~ no, a dozen! articles and essays submitted, then all the better odds that something will be accepted.

Still, the writing, the typing into my word program, the revising…It involves a lot of sitting.  So does working on reading with my daughter, or explaining math to my son.  Most of my daily life involves sitting, and I miss the summer days when I could break from that rut and take a bike ride to the park in the evening, or a walk to the library.  Winter in Iowa means much less exercise for all of us.  My sister and I walk four times a week in the morning and I lift weights three days, but recently I’ve felt the lack of “play” in my life, a lack of movement.

I feel as though I am sitting, just sitting here, day after day…

Waiting.

For Spring.

Author:

Author, public speaker, and workshop presenter for community colleges, libraries, women's groups and for grief support groups, Hospice and retreats. Reporter for the Manchester Press newspaper and popular public speaker and workshop presenter on the topics of writing and finding hope in grief. "Coupon Crazy: The Science, the Savings, and the Stories Behind America's Extreme Obsession" was published by Familius Publishing in 2014. "Chemo-Therapist: How Cancer Cured a Marriage" and "Refined By Fire: A Journey of Grief and Grace" were released by Familius in 2014. "Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink," co-written with Mary Jedlicka Humston of Iowa City, was published in September 2015.

One thought on “Sitting, just sitting here, day after day…

  1. Boy, I can relate. To everything you just wrote. Sometimes I stand up from the computer and feel like the rusted tin man. I need a bit of oiling.

    Thanks for the thoughts, and good luck with your writing. I bet you won’t have to wait much longer!

Leave a Reply

