Posted in coupons

Walmart. Again.

I’ve been reading on www.RefundCents.com how some have been finding the Glade holiday candles on clearance for $1.50. I didn’t think that was worth a trip to our Walmart until I was going through coupons tonight and found several $1.50 coupons.  I needed some bleach anyway and Walmart is less than 5 minutes away so Katie and I headed there this evening, coupon box in tow. This is what I came home with:

The candles were still $2.25 at our store, so I passed on those.  These fragrance gift sets, originally $15.00 were part of the after-Christmas half-price sale so $7.50.  With my two $5 Coty fragrance coupons (found in a December People magazine with Tiger Woods on the cover), I just found two $15 value gifts for $2.50 for upcoming male birthdays. (Michael turns 23 in a week, and David’s birthday is in March)

(6) Snuggle fabric softener sheets @$1.87 each, minus (6) $2.00 off coupons= FREE Snuggle!  (I have 10-15 more of these coupons to use before January 10th, and 15-20 packages downstairs already.  Obviously, some of them will be sold at my April garage sale.

4 Rolaids,two priced at $3.54 and 2 priced at $2.52, minus (2) $4.00 off 2 coupons.

3 Orville popcorn buckets, great for family movie night, $2 each,minus $2 coupon.

1 gallon jug of Walmart bleach=$1.52

1 All You magazine $2.24, minus 50-cent coupon.  You may be asking yourself why I would purchase yet another issue of this magazine, but as I mentioned before,besides the coupons inside the magazine, there is a special cardboard insert of extra coupons in the newstand issues, including the Buy 2, Get 1 Free Orville coupon, which basically pays for the rest of the coupons.  The coupons will save me an additional $8-$12, so well worth the $1.75, after coupon.  I got the 50-cents All You coupons inside another All You magazine a couple of months ago and they expire in mid-January.

Total before coupons= $48.10, plus $2.95 tax.  After coupons $18.55. Ending balance on gift card= $78.55, plus remember, I still have $25 left on my $50 Visa I bought at Walmart and $2 on a Burger King card I splurged on.

No candles, but still a worthwhile trip, if only to hear from the cashier,

“Wow, that’s what I call power shopping! You did great!”

Author:

Author, public speaker, and workshop presenter for community colleges, libraries, women's groups and for grief support groups, Hospice and retreats. Certified grief counselor and Senior Service librarian for the James Kennedy Public library. Popular public speaker and workshop presenter on the topics of writing, couponing, utilizing your creativity in everyday life, and finding hope in grief. "Coupon Crazy: The Science, the Savings, and the Stories Behind America's Extreme Obsession" was published by Familius Publishing in 2014. "Chemo-Therapist: How Cancer Cured a Marriage" and "Refined By Fire: A Journey of Grief and Grace" were released by Familius in 2014. "Mary & Me: A Lasting Link Through Ink," co-written with Mary Jedlicka Humston of Iowa City, was published in September 2015. Grief journal to be released in 2018.

Leave a Reply

