Like an elephant in the room…

“So, how and when are you going to tell everyone that reads your blog?” my friend Mary recently asked me, and I didn’t really have an answer.   It isn’t so much the telling as it is how to tell it.

For those of you who have been following my blog for any length of time, you may have noticed some key elements disappearing from it in the last four weeks.  It is almost as though I have an elephant in my living room and am not mentioning it. 

I am, of course, talking about my book, “Coupons, Chemo & Chuck E. Cheese: One Couple’s Journey Through Cancer,” which was slated for a November 1 release date. I say was, because I recently signed a termination agreement with that publisher.  I began this blog with the intention of keeping in touch with my readers and having an online presence as an author. Most of my postings had to do with the editing and publishing process and what I was learning along the way, including how to design my own press kit and promote my book.  Those posts had to be deleted since part of my termination agreement was not to discuss this particular press via e-mail, articles or online in a negative way.  While the termination was by my request, it stung nonetheless, and as November 1st approaches I can’t help but feel a sense of loss. 

I am no longer the “author with an upcoming book.”  I am the author of a book searching for a publisher.  Again. I’ve been down this road before, and it is a hard one, the path to publication.  Right now my book manuscript is in the hands of a publisher who I think would be a good fit.  I pray they see it the same way.

As for my blog, I am still stumbling around a bit, not sure where I fit in the blog world right now.  This isn’t a parenting blog, despite the fact that I have eight children. Nor is it a homeschooling blog, even though I’m a 17-year veteran homeschooler.  And although I love books and saving money, I never intended this to be either a book-lover or frugal blog.  Instead, it was to be an author blog that would eventually morph into an author website. Thus, right now, while the reality of my book contract termination sets in, my postings might ramble from one subject to another; from saving money to writing articles, garage sale finds and flu shots.  

I’m floundering a little right now. But as always, in the end, it will be writing that will get me back on track; writing to friends who care, writing articles and essays, working on my next book, and yes, writing on here too. 

And maybe that elephant in the room will eventually disappear.

Leave a Reply

