Something for Me

Look what I found todayI own so few pieces of furniture that are really “me.”  Most of our furniture is second-hand and utilitarian rather than beautiful.  I do have a few things I love; our queen size memory foam mattress with the cherry wood frame, the vanity that was left here by the former owner, my cabinet in our office/playroom where I store all our paper, pens and school supplies.  But, this! This lovely piece of furniture spoke to me when I spotted it. It was housed in an old truck in the parking lot of a furniture store near the Dollar General store where I was picking up Olay body wash for 50-cents after coupons. I peeked inside the truck and saw this. I couldn’t get it off my mind while I shopped, and knew I would likely never see anything like it again at that price. So, after shopping at Dollar General, Abby and I went in the furniture store and I bought it! I decided to use some of my garage sale profits to beautify my home a little.  Of course, I had to move some pictures around because there was a big picture there that I’d gotten at my sister’s consignment store bag sale once, a picture that is pretty but really isn’t me at all. This sunflower one is much better. Then, I had to dig in the trunk I keep in our entryway because I decided some of those pictures and scrapbooks and letters and high school yearbooks would fit inside this cabinet and I could hide all the shoes inside the trunk. Well, I started reading letters that were in the trunk, and before I knew it, two hours had passed! I used two nice photo boxes to organize some of the letters and photos and I have a few things that are too large that I will have to find someplace else to store, but the shoes are all picked up and a neat wooden box from the Dubuque County library book sale is sitting next to the trunk. Our library books went in there and that corner of the house looks really nice. The rest is a mess, but at least I got a start on it. I would like to surround myself with things that speak to me; shelves of lovely or meaningful books, (I have a start on that), comfy furniture that is conducive to hours of reading and writing, big fat decorated mugs for hot tea, drawers of lovely stationery. Things are just things, but some things are better than others.

One thought on “Something for Me

  1. Jacki says:

    This is one of the most beautiful pieces of furniture I have ever seen! Simply goregous, Mary! You did good! I’m glad you are doing things for you to create a happy place for you to stay surrounded in.

Leave a Reply

